Forum Discussion

AlanTen
Icon for Altostratus rankAltostratus
Sep 19, 2018

Radius External Monitor (Python)

This'll be a long post so get a cup of coffee or whatever your poison of choice is.

Sooooo, from all my digging around, Python based External Monitors are something that nobody talks about, has gotten right or maybe they just keep the solution to themselves or have realised the futility of python for advanced external monitors.

I am unfortunately pretty stubborn when I am faced with an interesting challenge so like a dog with a bone persisted until I got everything working except the actual F5 monitoring part. Bear in mind I am no coder, I'm ok at python, I know F5's relatively well and this is my first external monitor that I have written.

The shyte part is that there is, as far as I have seen, no information on using python for external monitors other than a couple of mentions here and there saying that it is possible.

As many of you know F5's current Radius monitor will only mark a member up when it has a successful login against a user account and has no means of establishing a connection then simply testing for ANY valid radius response regardless of whether the account supplied is valid or not.

This effectively shuts out the use of the F5 Radius monitor for Two Factor Auth systems where security is stringent enough to disallow the use of a single factor auth account with a fixed password for monitoring purposes.

To try solve this I wrote up this python script that will establish a connection to a radius server regardless of the number of auth factors it requires, it will then fire off a bogus(or not) authentication attemmpt to the radius server.