Forum Discussion

Nov 09, 2020

Are NTP and DNS traffic management type or not?

Hello everyone,

I'm system engineer in integrator company and currently I have one PoC of AWAF project with a customer. I have little experience of working with f5 devices, so I have one question and it'll help me a lot in future to analyze how BIG-IP devices. I've done some research in documentations but I couldn't find clear answer on topics, which type of traffic is considered as Data Traffic and which one is Management? For example NTP and DNS traffic should use management route or TMM route (I mean the case when there is no direct path to the destination DNS/NTP servers)?

I thought that BIG-IP devices will use management route (management gateway) to do DNS queries and time synchronization, so I asked customer to grant access on firewall from management interface to the destination servers, but it didn't work. Then I've captured traffic via tcpdump and I realized that BIG-IP devices try to use TMM default route instead. But I've read in this article - https://support.f5.com/csp/article/K13284 that NTP is management traffic. Also this article - https://support.f5.com/csp/article/K7017 says that during the device boot, ntpd daemon is starting before TMM, so if it has no route via management interface, time synchronization will fail.

So, I'm a little confused, what should I ask customer, open access from TMM interface for DNS, NTP, also for Signature Updates? I just do not understand logically, why NTP, DNS and system update do not use management routes? If all of them are considered as a data traffic, than what is management route used for? Only for accessing management GUI and SSH, is that correct?

Sorry for a long question, but I really want to understand the platform's logic of traffic routing, to be able to operate it and correctly implement it with the customer.

Thanks in advance.

// Giorgi

5 Replies