Forum Discussion

yxorpesrever
Icon for Altostratus rankAltostratus
Aug 12, 2022
Solved

Virtual Server with two sites but same IP

Starting off I'll say this got dumped on me and apart from the past couple of days, I have never worked on this before.

Second, if I get some stuff wrong while trying to explain it, I promise it is just because I'm unfamiliar.

One of our departments at work has an internal server that's hosted to the public/employees. I'll call it city.abc.com . This has had a working reverse proxy setup by a previous employee and the way I understand it, this server is going to host another application? site? not sure what to call it but we can call it stat.abc.com

So, single internal server, the F5 has it set up to hit a DMZ address, and then that points to an external iP for all to use. I think I got that right, and the single server is going to have two sites on it: city.abc.com and stat.abc.com. My boss has created DNS entries for the new site but how on earth do I tell the big IP F5 LTM to like route browsers there? I went through as meticulous as I could and tried to build all the same stuff the previous guy did, but with the stat.abc.com . Since the external IP is the same, and the internal, and the dmz IP, I (wrongfully) assumed that I could just essentially copy and paste what he did and it woudl work.

I get what I am asking is a lot but just a point in the right direction or something would be excellent of you. Thank you so much.

• Hi yxorpesrever ,

Below is the ref LTM policy which will be useful for your use case. You need to add another rule under same policy for other domain. Likewise you can add multiple rules to forward traffic to the desired pools based on matching the hosts under same LTM policy. Once policy is ready, you need to map it on the desired vServer.