cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Renaming the Group Name in BIG-IP DNS During an Upgrade

JustCooLpOOLe
Cirrocumulus
Cirrocumulus

So.....I have a question regarding the information around renaming the Group Name as part of disabling synchronization. The support article below doesn't go into detail and I understand the reasoning for disabling synchronization and synchronization for zone files check boxes but renaming of the group name is what I don't understand. Anyone know the reason why this is in the guide https://support.f5.com/csp/article/K11661449?

 

Disable synchronization

When upgrading BIG-IP DNS members in an high availability (HA) sync group, it is important to disable synchronization in order to reduce the possibility of an invalid configuration being synchronized to other members of the sync group during the upgrade process. However, if the BIG-IP DNS device is the only device in the sync group, you can safely ignore the recommendations regarding disabling and re-enabling synchronization.

Note: F5 recommends reviewing the BIG-IP DNS GSLB server settings for virtual server discovery. If Virtual Server Discovery is Enabled, you should change this setting to Enabled (No Delete) before starting the upgrade procedures. Doing so allows the BIG-IP DNS to retain the configured BIG-IP LTM virtual servers in the event of a BIG-IP LTM configuration load issue after you upgrade. You can set Virtual Server Discovery back to Enabled after you complete the post-upgrade configuration verification.

Impact of procedure: Performing the following procedure stops the BIG-IP DNS system from receiving any configuration updates from peer BIG-IP DNS devices.

  1. Log in to the Configuration utility.
  2. Go to DNS > Settings > GSLB > General.
  3. Clear the Synchronize check box. 
  4. Clear the Synchronize DNS Zone Files check box.
  5. Select Update.
  6. Note the current Group Name for later and change it so that it differs from the current value. 
  7. For example, if the group name is default, change it to default_upgrade.
  8. Select Update.

 

 

 

1 REPLY 1

JustCooLpOOLe
Cirrocumulus
Cirrocumulus

Bump