Forum Discussion

Andrew_Wysocki_
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Apr 15, 2016

GTM iRule to set the pool based on which GTM is responding to query

I've been asked that when a DNS request comes into a GTM, that it responds with the GTM pool which is local to that GTM site if it's available. The setup is as follows, 2 DC's, a GTM at each, synced together. We have a wide IP with 2 pools, in pool 1 it has servers based in DC1, and in pool 2, servers based in DC2. Currently we use Global Availability so only pool 1 is selected unless it's down. What was requested, if the DNS request ends up going to DC2 (understanding it's coming from the clients LDNS and not the client themselves), that the GTM at DC2 would respond with pool 2 instead of pool 1, as long as there's a server in it to respond.

I'm new to the coding of iRules, but wanted to take a shot at the logic, and hope someone with more experience can see if I'm on the right path, if there's a better way, or if there's error handling I should consider. I thought applying a GTM iRule to the wideIP is the best place to address this (as it's only relevant to the one site).

Looking at v10.New GTM irules it included the 'active_members' command, which I think is useful and is what I based my logic off of.

when DNS_REQUEST {
if { ([whoami] equals "dc-gtm01") && ( [active_members www.site1.com_pool1] >= 1) } {
    pool www.site1.com_pool1
    } elseif { [whoami] equals "dc-gtm02") && ( [active_members www.site1.com_pool2] >= 1 } {
        pool www.site1.com_pool2
    }
}