Forum Discussion

Deena
Icon for Altocumulus rankAltocumulus
Oct 16, 2022

F5 Lingo

Hi All, complete newbie, trying to learn the f5 lingo. We recently purchased a pair of i5000 series. Each physical box will be deployed in seperate geographical locations.  I plan on carving each box up so that i have 2 Big IPs on each physical box at each location. Digging around trying to find configuration guidelines and best practices is a little tricky, when i'm not sure i have the right terminology :). Any help will be appreaciated.

Thanks

Deena

7 Replies

• Hello Deena,

i didn't migrate from this load balancer to F5 before, but you can check the below main points when you are migrating from any vendor to F5.

• If the current load balancer is used as a reverse proxy, start by checking the ports used by back end servers (the ports that the backend server is listeneing on) to replicate and configure the same on F5.
    • Check the current health check monitors on the old load balancer (if exists) to be noted when you are making health check from F5.
    • Check the certificate and key for the HTTPS services, if you are planning to make SSL offloading/bridging on F5.
    • Start checking the VIPs on the old load balancer and decide whether the new VIPs on F5 will be the same IPs or new IPs.
    • If you are going to use the same IPs on the old load balancer, don't connect the F5 to the network (disable the network TMM interfaced) until the cut over maintenance window just to avoid replicating the IPs.

The configuration on F5 is very simple and straigh forward as a load balancer. It is divided into three main objects as below:

1. Node (which is the backend server itself). you are defining the backend server and adding it's IP.
    2. Pool (which is group of nodes "backend servers" for the same service). start adding the configured nodes and link each node with a port.