20 Lines or Less #76: Subnets, Persistence and SNATs

What could you do with your code in 20 Lines or Less?

That's the question I like to ask for the DevCentral community, and every time I go looking to find cool new examples that show just how flexible and powerful iRules can be without getting in over your head.

This week we’ve got some great community driven examples, including one that’s so good I stretch the rules just a bit. Not that I’ve never done that before, but you know, it’s pretty rare. Mostly. Sort of.

Subnet based URI restriction

https://devcentral.f5.com/s/questions/can-anyone-explain-the-behaviour-of-this-irule

When a user posts a questions saying “Could someone please explain this code?” things are often a bit concerning for them. They’re in a bad place, and hoping for some help. Lucky for them, help is something of a speciality around the DC Q&A parts (rolls right off the tongue…), and help is what this user got. Not only did they get an explanation of what the code does, which is to block access to a particular URI unless traffic is coming from a couple of specific IP ranges; they also got a bit of help optimizing and cleaning up the code. Because community, that’s why.

when HTTP_REQUEST {
    log local0. " Request in [IP::client_addr] [HTTP::host][HTTP::uri]"
    if { ( [HTTP::uri] contains "/down.php" ) and not ( ( [IP::addr [IP::client_addr] equals 75.66.12.0/255.255.255.0] ) or ( [IP::addr [IP::client_addr] equals 15.150.0.0/255.255.0.0] ) ) } {
        log local0. " Blocked access [IP::client_addr] [HTTP::host][HTTP::uri]"
        # drop the request
        reject
    }
}

Remove Persistence Records

https://devcentral.f5.com/s/questions/can-i-delete-my-persistence-record-in-an-irule