Forum Discussion

vishu_chavan
Icon for Altocumulus rankAltocumulus
Aug 28, 2023
Solved

Restricting access to a virtual server by Public IP address should access through only domain name.

We had Published  website on F5 with Domain name ,now created domain is aviable in public ,but publish website is also accessible  with ip address in public domain.( we have created server pool )

Website must be only accessible through Domain name only . 

We tried to created iRule for same Domain but its given error to assign HTTP profile .

We tried to applied HTTP profile to domain but domain virtual server pool go down and domain is unaviable .

we are using F5 current version is 11.5.8 

Kindly suggest work around for version 11.5.8

i am new to F5  

11 Replies

• Hello,

please note first, that version 11.5.8 is out of any supprt and service from April 8, 2019 as you can see in BIG-IP software support policy (f5.com)

For your problem, solution via iRule is a viable. also you could utilize LTM Policies.
    But as you describe you can't add the iRule (which is based on HTTP Events) because you do not have any HTTP Profile on Virtual Server.
    This Profile is required to validate or manipulate data on HTTP Layer.

And as you described you also have application issues if you apply an HTTP Profile it seems that the Application is protected by SSL / TLS. In this case you would also need an Client SSL / Server SSL profile

So the F5 will be able to decrypt and encrypt the connection and after that apply the http profile to make your iRule work.

But most important: Get an updated F5. This software Version is old and has maaaaaany Security and operating flaws

Regards

vishu_chavan

Thanks for reply

yes we knew F5 is running on old version and it is out of date .new F5 is in process as it will take time .

Can you please, Guide me how to apply   SSL / TLS for virtual server .

Thanks in advance . 

vishu_chavan

Hi  F5-Enthusiast