Forum Discussion

JD_73952
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Dec 09, 2011

perl API issue - unrecognized type error

Normally I'm not one to post on forums for help as I prefer to root around the internet, forums and documentation and learn the hard way, but after spinning my wheels on this one for a couple of days, I'm throwing in the towel.

I'm pretty new to the perl SOAP::Lite module, but not so new to perl programming (10+ years). From what I've been able to ascertain, I'm not doing anything wrong with the SOAP::Lite module nor with the iControl APIs, yet I continue to get this error that I need to resolve.

I've TRIED attaching the simple perl file as well as the output from the script, but no luck with either IE or Chrome - Ajax(?) calls seem to hang both when I try attaching AND putting the text inline in this post

How else do I get the code and output here? Email?

I appear to be able to get to the iControl:System/Connections API on the F5 server that I'm querying as I AM able to retrieve the version info from the server (BIG-IP VERSION [BIG-IP_v10.2.3]), but on the very next call when I make a call to get_list (as specified in the documentation here http://devcentral.f5.com/wiki/iControl.System__Connections.ashx), I receive the error 'Unrecognized type '{urn:iControl}Common.ProtocolType' followed by the SOAP envelope that apparently contains exactly the data I'm trying to get at.

I should mention that I am also having troubles accessing some of the System/Statistics methods as well - some work fine, others erroring out with the same type of error '{urn:iControl}Common.StatisticType'.

Is this something that is perhaps set up incorrectly on the F5 server that is causing this? Or am I totally missing something important on my client-side setup or my understanding of this interface?

Please help and thanks for your time.

Trying to put SOME of the code/output here:

[code snippet]

my $resp = $SysConnInfo->get_version();