Forum Discussion

Venkatesh_96090
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Jul 10, 2013

IRule for LDAP Authentication

Hello All,

Thank you in first place for choosing to help me. I am new to f5 and apologies if my question turns out to be too stupid.

All I am trying to do is authenticate APM users via LDAP server.

We basically use F5 edge gateway 10.2 with APM License, this is dedicated for extending SSL VPN access to our office network.

We have a LDAP server configured in our network and I want the users trying to login be authenticated by F5 APM against the LDAP server.

I have configured LDAP server under AAA, I have connection and access profile with access policy map(which calls ldap server to authenticate user and based on auth result give a msg box that auth passed or failed)

Login--->[LDAP AUTH]----MSGbox passed or MSGbox failed

Should I write a irule on the VS instance ive created for redirecting auth to LDAP ?

Could any one please give me a sample iRule to contact the auth server?

Currently I get

[admin@cscsslodc001-r:Active] ~ more /var/log/apm | grep user1

Jul 10 11:12:32 local/cscsslodc001-r notice apd[14484]: 01490010:5: 55ea4810: Username 'user1'

Jul 10 11:12:32 local/cscsslodc001-r err apd[14484]: 01490110:3: 55ea4810: LDAP module: authentication with 'sAMAccountName=user1' failed in ldap_simple_bind_s(): Can't contact LDAP server (-1)

I have captured tcp dump and I see NO packets leaving the f5 interface towards LDAP server however the logs says the server is unreachable.

I am unsure if I am missing something else or its just I need to write a iRule for catching the auth request and send it to server.

Any advise help assistance would be highly appreciated :)

Thank you :)

Venkatesh

3 Replies

• The issue appears to be in the LDAP AAA configuration. Are you using a host name for the server, and if so is it resolvable? Can the BIG-IP reach the LDAP server via the required LDAP port (usually 389 or 636)?