Forum Discussion

Zdenek
Icon for Cirrus rankCirrus
Feb 07, 2024
Solved

AS3 - virtual server naming

I am new to AS3 (I use version 3.49) and I noticed that all virtual servers created by AS3 have hardcoded name "serviceMain" and the actual name of the service is written in the description. 

I would like to ask if this is some kind of joke or do I do something wrongly. I can paste AS3 declaration here, but I use slightly updated basic one I found here

When I try to modify the "serviceMain" to something else in the AS3 declaration I get an error that this is a required property.

• Ok, all virtual servers don't have to have name "serviceMain" or "service". According to this article    if I use "Shared" as application class + I use template "shared" then I can use own naming for the virtual servers. That is related to version AS3 3.20+, so the link above is not valid as that's related to v3.19

3 Replies

• No joke :)

AS3 generally derives BIG-IP configuration component pathnames from declaration AS3 pointers by simply mapping AS3 Tenant name to BIG-IP partition name, AS3 Application name to BIG-IP folder name, and AS3 object name to BIG-IP component name. For instance, AS3 implements an AS3 Pool /T/A/mypool as BIG-IP ltm pool /T/A/mypool.

This rule causes some confusion in the AS3 Service classes, where the schema forces the object name to be serviceMain. Without a static name, AS3 cannot perform validation, and to be consistent, AS3 was built to always match the BIG-IP object name to the name used in the declaration. However, when multiple apps are configured, the GUI view shows a list of seemingly identical virtual server names (serviceMain, serviceMain, serviceMain…). The difference between them is shown in a column to the right, where each virtual is shown to be in a different folder.

Please take a look at this reference: https://clouddocs.f5.com/products/extensions/f5-appsvcs-extension/3.19/refguide/declaration-purpose-function.html.

Zdenek