Forum Discussion

HoussNet
Icon for Altostratus rankAltostratus
Dec 07, 2022
Solved

Objectif of Learning mode in ASM

Hi,
I am new in F5 ASM,

As I think, ASM can block attacks by himself based on many rules and signatures. So my question is what's the objectif of integrated Learning Mode inSecurity Policy ?

Thanks

• HoussNet , 
    If I enable Staging for Attack signature or any of Entities , I Tell F5 ASM " Do not Block traffic violates this attack signature/or matched entity " 

Learning mode is a concept we call it when our service still under testing not on air/or production service for all users , and ofcourse you should enable statging in this mode , to learn traffic without interruption of blocking a legitimate traffic.

you can enable Staging for Entites as way in the process of learning to make F5 not to Block any traffic violates these Entites , and when learning period completes you can enforce " Disable Staging" these Entity , this depends on what the type of learning ( Automatic/Manual) Learning. 

I want to say that Staging is one of 3 ways permits/allows traffic that match any of staged entites or attack signatures. 

I hope you have gotten it now. 
    Feel free to reach out with me. 

Regards

5 Replies

• Hi HoussNet , 
    Learning mode in F5 ASM : is only a Concept not an indication that F5 ASM will block or permit malicious traffic. 
    F5 ASM blocks/allows traffic based on : 

>Transparent/Blocking mode. 

> "Block" option enabled or not under each item in blocking and learning settings page.

> if there Staged entity or not in statging. 

So F5 takes block action if you configure : 
    - policy mode : Blocking
    - enable "block" option under needed items/Entities ( File types , urls , Attack signatures , parameters ...etc.)
    - disable Staging under needed items ( Attack signature ) or learned Entites ( parameters , filetypes , URLs .... etc and thire Wildcards "*" )