Forum Discussion

s_martin_253133
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
May 31, 2016

iRule to clear session when traversing to new APM Profile

I have a request to add a "reset password" link on the logon page of our primary APM profile portal. I would like to have a link to a separate virtual server tied to a new APM profile which does not require a login and instead would walk users through an APM decision tree depending on their account type (employee vs. contractor) ultimately sending them to the appropriate 3rd party password reset location.

I have struggled to purge the primary APM profile logon page session cookie using an iRule as it seems to persist even when running the commands below:

HTTP::cookie remove MRHSession

ACCESS::session remove

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Please be gentle I'm new to this.

9 Replies

• Hi,

You need to set a special value for MRHSession and LastMRH_Session cookies in the response to the client. For example, you can respond like in my example below :

HTTP::respond 302 noserver "Location" "/logout" "Content-Type" "text/html" "Cache-Control" "no-cache, must-revalidate" Set-Cookie "MRHSession=deleted;expires=Thu, 01-Jan-1970 00:00:10 GMT;domain=[HTTP::host];path=/" Set-Cookie "LastMRH_Session=deleted;expires=Thu, 01-Jan-1970 00:00:10 GMT;domain=[HTTP::host];path=/"

The domain value in the cookie depends on how the cookie was set the first time. If it's not provided during authentication, you should remove "domain=[HTTP::host]" in the command.

You can also wait for the backend response and reset the cookie values :

HTTP::cookie insert name value [path ] [domain ] [version <0 | 1 | 2>]

practical example :

HTTP::cookie remove LastMRH_Session
    HTTP::cookie insert name MRHSession value "expired"
    HTTP::cookie insert name LastMRH_Session value "expired"
    HTTP::cookie expires MRHSession 0 absolute
    HTTP::cookie expires LastMRH_Session 0 absolute

s_martin_253133