Forum Discussion

Ryan_Crowley_18
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
May 18, 2009

How to cause a failover to another server when a error string is present in a response?

Ok,

totally new to writing iRules here, so bear with me through a couple stupid questions.

My situation is that i am using ColdFusion (and JRun) as an application server. Sometimes (frequently) JRun crashes, and displays an error message, which does not have the proper header information of a 500 error, or what ever.. it sends a 200.

So what I need to do is look at each response that comes back from the server, if i detect the string "JRun closed connection." or "Server Error", then retry the request on another server in the pool.

My problem is currently that I am not sure what I'm looking for here. It seems that the event I need is HTTP_RESPONSE_DATA or HTTP_RESPONSE and looking at HTML::payload but.. I keep going through the documentation and being that I'm new to both iRules and TCL, I'm never sure of which I'm looking for an F5 thing or a TCL thing. ya know?

If someone could point me to either an example or at least in the right direction I'd greatly appreciate it!

5 Replies

• Why can't you use the monitors that come within the LTM? You don't need to look at the header information to determine the problem. You could simply look for content within the page which would mark it down if it does not recieve the message it was intending.
  • Or use reverse monitors with "JRun closed connection" and "Server error" as receive strings.

Otherwise you're correct that you'd have to look in HTTP::payload, the main issue with that is you're going to have to do an HTTP::collect on every response, which could be fairly resource-intensive and/or add a lot of latency. Testing would reveal the extent of that. If you could limit the collect to something other than the full payload that would help (ie, if you know how many bytes along in the content either of those error messages would show up).