Forum Discussion

_JOHN_
Icon for Altocumulus rankAltocumulus
Aug 10, 2022

CRL Validator

From v15.1 onwards client SSL profiles support CRL validator objects as per this bug report:

Bug ID 743758 (f5.com)

I have no experience of CRL Validator.  I have just started to read about it, but I haven't found much info and would appreciate input from those who already have experience to help me properly understand its operation and benefits/limiataions.

The following devcentral post discusses it:

Support dynamic CRL check for clientSSL profile (B... - DevCentral (f5.com)

The F5 client SSL overview pages don't look to cover it, but the following describes it from the server SSL profile point of view (heading "Create a custom Server SSL profile that supports CRL"):

AskF5 | Manual Chapter: SSL Traffic Management,SSL Traffic Management,SSL Traffic Management,SSL Traffic Management,SSL Traffic Management

So first off let me just make sure I have understood the basic setup (please correct anything I have wrong):

1) Client SSL profile set up as normal for client authentication e.g. require a cert, and attached to relevant VS.
2) Internal proxy created referencing a DNS resolver.  The DNS resolver is used to map any of the expected DNS zones referenced in CRLDPs to DNS servers that can perform the name resolution.
3) CRL object created referencing internal proxy.
4) CRL object attached to client SSL profile mentioned in point 1.

In this setup the F5 will examine the CRLDP contained within the client cert, perform a DNS lookup for it, and then progress to download the CRL to use for checking the client cert.  So I have the following pieces I want to understand (answers for any appreciated :-)......
> How are different methods e.g. LDAP/HTTP handled?
> What is the approach if multiple CRLDPs are specified in the cert?
> What happens if the CRLDP isn't covered by the DNS zones in the DNS resolver?