Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating iRule to mask/hide URL

j_carl_39543
Nimbostratus
Nimbostratus

Hi All,

I am new in using F5 Big-IP, I have a current task to either mask the website or totally hide the URL. If I decided to mask the URL, I need to create substitute link. Whenever the users click the URL link www.test.com, a different URL link will be displayed. Example www.test123.com but the original site www.test.com will be loaded. If I choose to hide the URL, the URL will be plain blank.

Please help which one is easier to implement and tips on how to implement it. Thanks in advance.

13 REPLIES 13

nitass
F5 Employee
F5 Employee
Whenever the users click the URL link www.test.com, a different URL link will be displayed. Example www.test123.com but the original site www.test.com will be loaded.www.test123.com will be resolved to the same (virtual server) ip of www.test.com, won't it?

j_carl_39543
Nimbostratus
Nimbostratus
Hi Nitass,

My only purpose here is to show different URL to the original URL, so that if they forward the URL or copied it they can not access the original URL.

What_Lies_Bene1
Cirrostratus
Cirrostratus
j_carl, understood, but unless the IP address used to resolve the real and fake domain names is the same this won't work, hence Nitass's question. Please confirm.

nitass
F5 Employee
F5 Employee
this is information from the past discussion.

manipulate url displayed in browser

https://devcentral.f5.com/community/group/aft/22378/asg/50

hope this helps.

j_carl_39543
Nimbostratus
Nimbostratus
This site is really helpful. It will have different IP address, I will try first what nitass attached discussion.

j_carl_39543
Nimbostratus
Nimbostratus
Hi All,

My boss now wants me to totally hide the whole URL whenever the users select the URL link. Can you help me with sample scripts. Thanks in advance.

hoolio
Cirrostratus
Cirrostratus
Hi Carl,