Forum Discussion

smalex
Icon for Altostratus rankAltostratus
Jul 08, 2018

ASM Policy Learning Understanding

I am very new to ASM and enabled a security policy with 'Automatic' learning mode and 'Transparent' enforcement Mode. Learning speed is medium and period was 14 days which I had extended for around 30 days. Now I have around 5k entries in traffic learning page. Confused how to proceed further.

Can anyone help me out?

1 Reply

• I started building security policies for 10 of my applications 7 months ago. And one of the applications is now at 99%.

When it comes to automatic policy builder, the general progress all depends upon the amount of traffic that is learned and enforced by the ASM. After we learn entities, the general progress in the policy builder won't be made until we have enforced entities that we learn (which comes down to meeting the criteria specified in the Tighten settings).

When policy builder is enabled, it will learn for entities from the traffic that it gets once the criteria specified in 'Accept as Legitimate (Loosen)' in the policy builder settings is met. Until we get the specified amount of traffic, we won't learn it as an entity within the policy. Once we have learned the traffic, next comes the enforcing them (even if PB enforces them and the objects are ready to be enforced, they won't actually be "enforced" until Enforcement Readiness Period is over).

For the entities or elements (that have been learned) to be "enforced", it'll be done by the policy builder only after it has met the criteria specified in the policy builder settings. If they haven't met those criteria, then they won't be enforced by policy builder automatically (because the criteria under Tighten settings haven't been met) but rather will need to be enforced by admin user (or any user, really) manually.