Forum Discussion

Seb1180_135325
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Oct 10, 2013
Solved

HTTP HTTPS Proxy redirect question

Hi to everyone, not really sure of my title neither if this is the right place to post this as I am very new to the F5 community (3 days :) ) and DC and thanks already to all contributors of that site that already helped me out with my LTM implementation. So far got everything I wanted to for my exchange and View environment but I am left with one issue that I can t figure out or found on this site although I am sure this has already been asked.

To make things simple let's say I have 4 websites and 3 webservers. One internal server hosts 2 HTTP sites (A & B) and the two other servers hosts in DMZ a dedicated HTTPS site (C & D). All sites are accessible from inside and outside. At the moment Site A and B are sharing the same public ip. There is a NAT on the firewall to a proxy that has to be phased out that passes the traffic to the internal webserver. Site C and D have there own public ip that also has a NAT but straight to their respective server in DMZ.

Is it possible to put all sites on the same public ip, Nat that ip to an external VIP on the F5 and let the F5 box redirect the traffic to the right webserver ? That would help me clear out the mess I have been left with and free up a lot of public ip that I will soon need for other stuff.

Thanks a lot for any help that you can provide

Seb

• Yes you can do this you create two virtuals using the same IP address one listening to port 80 and the other listening to port 443. The port 80 traffic will be sent to the server which will use the HTTP host headers to display the correct site just like now.

The problem comes with the HTTPS site you have two server each hosting the same sites? Is so put them in one pool and add both SSL certs to the Virtual using the link below

http://support.f5.com/kb/en-us/solutions/public/13000/400/sol13452.html?sr=32430737