Forum Discussion

Josh_41258
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Sep 18, 2013

ASM on VIPRION/vCMP

I am new to ASM here, and I'm looking for some advice on best practices for an ASM deployment using vCMP.

Is it recommended to run separate vCMP guests for ASM and LTM, or run both LTM and ASM on the same vCMP guest? Are there advantages/disadvantages to either method?

There may already be some documentation on this, but I couldn't find it. If so, please point me in the right direction!

Thanks

8 Replies

• if you're going to have multiple guests all using ASM policies, maybe it makes sense to dedicate a guest or two specifically to handling policy, but personally I like having the policy local to the ASM so I can control all traffic flow more simply with less hops.

• Jason,

Sorry to resurrect such an old thread. Are you aware of any design documentation around the integration of ASM+LTM?

If we do put ASM on it's own vCMP guest, what is the preferred method for integration between the LTM and ASM? Create VServers on the ASM box, and then use those as pool members for the LTM pools? I would think it is also a good idea to put the actual pool members in the LTM pool(s) as well and use priority group activation to send traffic directly to them (thus bypassing the ASMs) if the ASMs become unavailable.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

JRahm_128324
    Historic F5 Account

bypassing ASM would indicate that security is not really a requirement for doing business, but that is a business problem, not a technical problem. I have seen deployments exactly as you are describing them, just looping through ASM but all control is handled in the LTM. I've also seen client->LTM->ASM->server, and client->LTM/ASM->server. I prefer less hops when scale isn't an issue.

• there are a few ways of doing it, but it depends on what hardware you are using for vcmp.

if on same guest, ltm/asm combo, you need the right blades/hw, simpler to configure/manage.