Forum Discussion

Mar 23, 2017

X-Forwarded-For through proxy and F5

My organization recently got the ASM module when they purchased a pair of 5250Vs. I've never used ASM before and we don't have anyone in our organization that has either, so I'm learning on the fly.

I have a small SharePoint farm behind the F5. Two web front ends in a pool that uses SNAT. This farm is accessible from within our organization only, not available from the open internet. We have geographically dispersed users and offices, all over the United States. Some offices have a web proxy that all client web traffic goes through as it leaves their local enclave and some sites do not have a proxy like this.

For traffic that comes from a site that goes through a proxy, the X-Forwarded-For header shows in ASM as the proxy IP, not the actual client IP. For sites that do not go through a proxy, I see the actual client IP in this header. I contacted the group that manages the proxy at my location and confirmed that the proxy at my site also has X-Forwarded-For enabled, they even sent me a screen shot that showed it was enabled.

I'd like to see the IP of the original client through the proxy. From what I read, I thought maybe I'd see multiple IPs in some circumstances, but I admit I've never worked with X-Forwarded-For header before now. Thanks in advance.

16 Replies

• IIS doesn't handle the X-Forwarded-For header in the normal IIS logs. The most common solution I've seen is, implementing IIS Advanced Logging. Depending on the version of IIS you are running, this might be an extension you need to install on your IIS servers (through the web platform installer on 2008 and 2008 R2), or it may be available built-in (2012 R2 and 2016, not sure about 2012).

Here's an example of how to configure the logging once you have advanced logging available to you: https://www.iis.net/learn/get-started/whats-new-in-iis-85/enhanced-logging-for-iis85