Forum Discussion

kendalladkins_5
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Nov 09, 2007

Variable Scope & Lifetime

I am relatively new to iRule development and I need a little help understanding variable scope. My main objective is to understand how I pass values from the HTTP_REQUEST event to the HTTP_RESPONSE event for a single HTTP handshake. Here is an example:

when HTTP_REQUEST {

if {[TCP::local_port] == 80} {

set protocol "http"

} else {

set protocol "https"

}

set url "$protocol://[HTTP::host][HTTP::uri]"

}

when HTTP_RESPONSE {

HTTP::respond 200 content "$url"

}

Here are some questions I have:

1. Will the above iRule always return the client's original request URL?

2. What is the scope and lifetime of a local variable?

3. What is the scope and lifetime of a global variable?

4. Should I use the global command to declare globals instead of set ::varname? There is significant tcl documentation that implies that this performs better.

5. Is there any documentation on this?

Thanks

3 Replies

• Taking this one step further, I've just installed a working iRule onto a bigger machine that has 4 tmm's, and it gets a but cranky. Presumably with this setup "global" variables are specific to each instance of the tcl interpreter, rather than the logical iRule, making 4 sets of globals...

Is there are way to truly share data between the 4 instances?

Deb_Allen_18
    Historic F5 Account
    That's correct, global variables are not shared across TMMs, rather 1 is maintained per TMM, separately.

From PD: