Forum Discussion

flyons
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Jun 15, 2020

Reverse Proxy with URL Rewrite and Application Request Routing

Hello. I'm new to BigIP and could use some help. Using my BigIP, I'm trying to implement the equivalent of IIS Reverse Proxy with URL Rewrite and Application Request Routing. I'm generally trying to implement the same functions described in this Microsoft technical article - An Internet-accessible Web server is used as a reverse-proxy server that receives Web requests and then forwards them to several intranet applications for processing.

Can anyone advise if there are any technical articles I can follow to complete this? Or perhaps the steps and iRules to utilize for this? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

6 Replies

• I think you should start with this: https://techdocs.f5.com/kb/en-us/products/big-ip_ltm/manuals/product/ltm-implementations-12-1-0/17.html

flyons

Excellent, yes. I think this is exactly what I'm looking for to get me started. I'll post if I struggle with any specific configuration. Thanks!

flyons

I have implemented the rewrite and forwarding based on the document you provided. It is definitely working but I'm having a specific issue where after I log into the backend application, the page does not fully render. Some of the page loads fine but various charts and tool bars fail to load. It appears that not everything is being rewritten?

Desperately seeking some advice on what could be missing.

xRes
      Icon for Cirrus rankCirrus

Use DevTools in your browser to see what's going on client side. If not - then probably "tcpdump -vnni 0.0:nnnp -s0 -w /tmp/test.pcap" will give you the answer when analyzed in Wireshark :)

flyons