Forum Discussion

Ajene
Icon for Altocumulus rankAltocumulus
Nov 17, 2021

Migrate APM Config between versions

Hi everyone! I've been performing a large migration for a customer and all has been going fine. However, I'm now working on a set of appliances that have the APM feature enabled. What is the best way to perform an APM migration between two systems of different versions? The source is version 12.1.5.3. The destination appliance is version 14.1.4.1. The other caveat is that the source appliance's configuration resides in the Common partition. The destination appliance has a few partitions and I need to migrate this APM configuration into a partition. Not sure if that'll make a difference. I've been using the config file to perform these migrations. I've been parsing the configuration file and making modifications so that it imports into the correct partition on the new appliance. However, this is my first time migrating an APM configuration and the configuration seems a bit more complicated than LTM. Again, what is the best way to migrate this configuration? I've already read that I can't simply export/import if the versions are different. Should I just do it all manually? Thanks in advance for any suggestions you can provide.

3 Replies

• Hello Ajene,

are you able to install v12.1.5.3 on new hardware while importing configuration? That will also allow you to work with SCF or UCS files.

This will also allow you to perform a direct upgrade from 12.1.5.3 to 14.1.4.1 where F5 will do the work to validate your configurations.

From a full configuration import, then you can just cut out text config from /Common/ .conf partition files and put them into /new-partition/ .conf text files. Of course remember to change any object reference to match the new position.

I'm sure you do this already, but save backup copies before editing text files.