Forum Discussion

Carl_Rosevear_1
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
May 18, 2009

Help with PyControl Accessing Enumerations

So, I'm new to iControl. I'm new to SOAP. I'm pretty Python-savvy and network-savvy but I need some help. I have already re-written some of my old SSH modules to make use of iControl instead of SSH for manipulating BigIP LTM configs. However, I need to write some web interfaces and I want to retrieve the value set from within an enumeration in the WSDL, say for example LocalLB... LBMethods. Not exactly sure how to reference these enumerations within the pycontrol setup that's for sure. So what am I missing? How can I retrieve these values to use for the options in a drop-down list box on a web interface, basically... Thanks.

--Carl

4 Replies

• Carl: I'm not 100% clear on what you're trying to accomplish, but perhaps something like this would work?

In [14]: pools = b.LocalLB_Pool.get_list()['return'] 
     In [15]: b.LocalLB_Pool.get_lb_method(pool_names = pools) 
     Out[15]: 
     {'return': ['LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_OBSERVED_MEMBER', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN', 
                 'LB_METHOD_ROUND_ROBIN']} 

Where you could then convert into a dict, tuple, etc...the return list from get_lb_methods() should be in order of your pool list argument, so you can create pretty much whatever data structures you want. I've done stuff like this in the past:

In[17]:  pools = b.LocalLB_Pool.get_list()['return'] 
     In [18]: methods = b.LocalLB_Pool.get_lb_method(pool_names = pools)['return']