Forum Discussion

Filip_Verlaeckt
Historic F5 Account
Mar 31, 2011

Automated secure file transfer

Hello

I am trying to solve the following problem:

What are the possibilities to organise file transfers initiated from a remote client to an internal server behind LTM?

Requirements are as follows:

- file must be encrypted in transit (SCP, FTPS, SFTP,....)

- user (or script) must authenticate

- destination file server must be selected by LTM based on information in the upload command (e.g. filename or destination host/directory)

Not sure how to read the filename or directory name with LTM eg. from below command.

pscp -pw xxxxx file.doc user@ftp_vip_on_ltm:/dir/file.doc

Any help much appreciated.

6 Replies

Hamish
    Icon for Cirrocumulus rankCirrocumulus
    Ahh... Offloaded scp?

Hmm... I've never done any offloaded scp before. You'd have to interpret the scp protocol yourself, then re-encrypt... I don't think it'll be easy. But a worthy challenge none the less.

sftp is just ssh as well.. You'll probably have the same problems.

because they're both port 22, you'd also need to detect NON scp/sftp and disable processing (Otherwise you're just slowing up ssh interactive access for no good reason).

ftps probably has more possibilities. It's just ftp over SSL/TLS. So you can decrypt, and the ftp protocol is well understood. However you do then have to contend with data connections as well as the command connection, so it may actually become more complex than the single stream scp option.

H