Forum Discussion

Spence_Faschin1
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Mar 15, 2005

Rewrite a uri (not redirect)

I have a need to rewrite a uri, and make this look transparent to the end user. What I have come up with is this:

when HTTP_REQUEST {  
   set loop 0  
   set max [llength $::shorturi]  
   while {$loop < $max}{  
     set tmpstr [lindex $::shorturi $loop]  
     if {[HTTP::uri] starts_with $tmpstr}{  
       set uri1 {findstr [http_uri] $tmpstr}  
       set uri2 {regexp -all -inline {$tmpstr::longuri}}  
       subst {[HTTP::uri] $uri2}  
     }  
   }  
 }  

I have to Data Groups - long_uris and short_uris:

short_uris:

someuri1

someuri2

long_uris:

rewrite/someuri1

rewrite/someuri2

the end of the long uri will always match what the short uri is

I have not had a chance to test this yet - still building out the test environment, but it does not kick any errors on the LTM. I am just looking for some input - as I am not a developer (I'm a network guy).

So - to re-iterate - the long term goal is this:

user comes in to http://www.somesite.com/someuri

and the LTM rewrites the uri on the backside to:

http://www.somesite.com/rewrite/someuri (the rewrite portion is much much longer in the real data)

Thanks in advance

9 Replies

unRuleY_95363
    Historic F5 Account
    I think there are a number of things that can be improved in your example. But, let's not start there yet.

First, let's gather more information about what you're trying to do.

It sounds like you want to insert some path data before certain uris.

So, the first question that comes to mind is whether the inserted rewrite text is different depending on the original uri?

Second, I'm not quite sure how/why you are relating the two datagroups with each other. Perhaps you really just want one datagroup with two fields.

For example, I might have a datagroup that looks like this:

class my_uri_mappings { 
        "/index.html /some/place/for/html"