Why Developers Should Demand Web App Firewalls.

The Web Application Firewall debate has been raging for a very long time, and we keep hearing the same comments going back and forth. Many organizations have implemented them as a fast-track to compliance, primarily compliance with PCI-DSS, but the developer community is still hesitant to embrace them as a solution to their problems.

And that’s because like so many things out there, they are seen as an “either-or” proposition. Either they can relieve a developer of the need to write security code, or they can’t. If they can’t, then why have them? I’m a developer by trade, and I get the sentiment. It’s tough to say “spend all this money, and I’ll keep spending my time”, could almost seem to make no sense.

But very little out there is really an either/or proposition. Many of the things that a Web Application Firewall can do for you – like DOS/DDOS attack resistance – are outside the realm of the developer. If you’ve taken the time to write DDOS protection code into your web applications, you might just be in the wrong job. Many other things that Web Application Firewalls (WAF) can do are well within the bounds of the developer domain, but could save time if they were implemented in the centralized location of the WAF instead of over and over in each app. Not relieve you of the burden of writing secure code, but save you time by eliminating bits to focus on and reducing redundant development, freeing up CPU cycles in the process.

My Friendly Local Game Store (FLGS) – with doors.