Sometimes you don't know what you don't know

Have you been there? It’s frustrating, as you can have all the drive and desire, but if you lack the compass to point you in the right direction, well, you go everywhere and nowhere at the same time. With networking, my compass reads true.

For programming? I’ve learned a lot over the years with my forays into iRules and iControl API and tmsh scripting. Always a means to an end. I have a need, and I meet it. I have a side project I’m working on for my son’s robotics team. Full disclosure: I’m not a web developer. I have knowledge in, around, and about the process and I can deliver and secure it well through an infrastructure I’d be happy to design, but I haven’t sat down and really DONE it. And so I don’t know what I don’t know in a lot of areas. I don’t know how to properly design a database schema. I don’t know how to properly establish MVC, or file layout, and deployment strategies. And based upon all the tutorials I’ve read and compared, there is no established “RIGHT” way to do it, which adds to the intimidation for beginners. I asked a question on Stack complete with lots of details and I was smacked down. I clarified my question, was helped by said overlord, and got enough of an answer to help myself and then I posted my own solution.

But you know what? That’s ok. Because there are some great communities of support out there. Stack is a great community with a very diverse breadth of technologists, though sometimes I think their overlords are more interested in embarrassing you for what you don’t know rather than mentoring you into another helpful member of the community.