Building a lab using Proxmox

Whether you’re playing around with some new NGINX features, the latest F5 release or maybe just some generic servers or systems you always wanted to have a look at, having a lab environment is extremely useful.

I’ve been running lab environments for many years, first purely as hobby, later as part of my job as Cloud Architect, and now again for my own business (...and hobby). A good lab environment is close to unmissable. To steal a quote from an old colleague of mine; “Everyone has a lab, some people are lucky enough to have a lab that’s separate from their production environment”. How true… To be honest, the quickest way to get funding for a lab, is to tell your boss that you’ll be implementing this exciting new feature you learned about this week into production next week!

For a quick test or demo, the likes of VMware Player or VirtualBox will do just fine on your laptop, but as soon as you want to scale up a bit, maybe get a few systems chained behind one another, you’ll be looking at a dedicated server.

So, one of the first questions you need to answer when it comes to a lab; what hypervisor will you be using? How small a question it seems, but it will have a major impact on the VM types you can run, often the hardware that you’ll need and the ease of use going forward. Oh, and price of course.

In this article, I’ll argue my case for Proxmox (https://www.proxmox.com/), but just as a disclaimer; I don’t work for/with Proxmox, anything I’m about to say is my own opinion and am likely to offend some of you, but it is the best knowledge/opinion I have and it works for me for my case. I’d love to know your view on the matter though, so don’t hold back in the comments!

Hardware & Installation