What does a Security Evangelist actually do?

For much of 2013 I was F5’s security evangelist. It’s a fun title and a very interesting role. To those outside the tech industry, or even those outside the security industry, the role can require some explanation.

So what does a Security Evangelist do? Instead of trying to explain it, perhaps it’s easier to see what kept me busy during 2013.

Spoke at 8 conferences. Giving a talk at RSA Europe in Amsterdam was a professional highlight for 2013. I had been preparing for this talk for two years and it went quite well: 96% of the feedback forms said the talk was either Excellent or Very Good.

Then there was the panel about elliptic curve cryptography hosted at a nightclub in San Francisco with very convenient access to the bar afterward. It should go without saying that an evangelist (of any kind) should be good at public speaking. If you need practice (and everyone still says um too often) visit your local Toastmasters group.

Others conferences that I got speak at were the Cyber Security Symposium in Sacramento, a couple of marketing events in London and Sao Paulo and the Gartner Data Center conference in Las Vegas.

Spoke at 5 User Groups. User Groups are my favorite part of evangelism! Some of the sales people heard that I really like baseball, and as the year progressed they started scheduling user groups at baseball fields around America! So we would have a good talk about security at a field and then watch the game afterward. I saw 5 different ballparks in 2013 – PNC, Kansas City, Wrigley Field, Yankee Stadium and Oakland Stadium. I’m looking to continue this trend in 2014, salespeople Hint Hint!