Secure Remote Access. What does it mean today?

I've been working with remote access solutions for nearly 15 years now and looking back the use of these solutions has changed dramatically over that time. We've moved from a time where remote access was available only to a vital few - IT or the Chief Exec for example, to an era where there are use cases for most if not all users.

There are many factors that have driven this shift; improved connectivity with broadband capability being generally available; the advent of mobile compute platforms giving users capable devices that can be used in any location; better security with device analysis, management and policy control ever improving; increased capability for delivering applications centrally, using web, SaaS, cloud and virtualisation technologies. All of these have driven demand for organisations to provide coherent capabilities to allow users, partners and 3rd parties access to our previously ring fenced networks.

The challenge today then is, not "How do I give remote access to my users?" But "How do I give remote access whilst meeting the plethora of different requirements that covers?"

Clearly, a solution that focuses purely on VPN, or on mobile access management for example, whilst probably doing that well, will only deal with part of the requirement. With that approach you could easily end up with multiple point solutions to manage and even then still have gaps in what you can do.

At F5 we've always approached these challenges from the application perspective. In fact our mission as a company is: "To help organisations to deliver the the most secure, fast and reliable applications to anyone, on any device, anywhere, anytime". How then does that translate into a solution that will meet the needs of today's enterprises? Well, let's look at the challenges in a bit more detail.