DevCentral's Featured Member for November - Alex Tijhuis

Our Featured Member series is a way for us to show appreciation and highlight active contributors in our community. Communities thrive on interaction and our Featured Series gives you some insight on some of our most engaged folks. DevCentral Member Alex Tijhuis is our Featured Member for November! Let's catch up with Alex! 

DevCentral: First, please explain to the DC community a little about yourself, what you do and why it is important.

Alex: I’m originally from the Netherlands but live in Newmarket (UK), together with my wife Jana and two kids. Jana is from South Africa where we met, and after having lived there for a few years, decided to move to the UK for a couple of years. That was 14 years ago and we’re still here!

I’m a full-time F5 engineer, specializing in training and consultancy for all the major F5 products throughout Europe. And why it’s important? I don’t think I’ve got to tell you why F5 is important… 😉

DevCentral: You’ve continued to be an active contributor in the DevCentral community. What keeps you involved?

Alex: Well thanks! I find myself coming and going to be honest. If I’ve got a few days off, I jump on there for a bit, see if I can help someone out, but also whenever I’m looking for obscure answers, DevCentral is one of the first places I end up. During consultancies as well as training sessions, I often get some very tricky questions (these students can sometimes throw me some very interesting curveballs…) – DevCentral has already come to the rescue quite a few times for me.

Although I think I know quite a bit about the F5 products, I’m definitely missing some in-depth knowledge in some of the products. On DevCentral there is always someone around who either had the problem already before, or someone who knows more about it, or at least tries to help figure it out – it’s awesome!

DevCentral: Tell us a little about the technical expertise you have.