Forum Discussion

casieowen_20826
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Jun 26, 2015

An http redirect irule that is executing but not actually redirecting

This is my first attempt at implementing an irule. I've written a few variations trying to get something to work. I've included them all below (replacing the sensitive values with xxx). The result is the same: each of the rules below execute when I load a page with "xxx" in the URL (can see the number of executions increasing in the statistics area), but the redirect doesn't happen. The F5 irule editor reports that the syntax for each is valid.

when HTTP_REQUEST { if { [HTTP::uri] contains "xxx"} { HTTP::redirect "" } }

when HTTP_REQUEST { if { [HTTP::uri] contains "xxx"} { HTTP::redirect "[HTTP::uri]" } }

when HTTP_REQUEST { if { [HTTP::uri] contains "xxx"} { HTTP::redirect } }

7 Replies

• the condition {[HTTP::uri] contains "xxx"} is case sensitive.

to convert URI to lowercase, the condition must be: {[string tolower [HTTP::uri]] contains "xxx"}

of course, configure xxx with only lowercase...

THi

It is a fairly easy to add debugging info to the iRules when developing them. You can add logging within the if-clause to see if the condition is met. (

log local0. "Kilroy was here.."
    -style).

Then check the ltm log.

tail -f /var/log/ltm from command line would give you real time view what is appended to the log. Also have you checked for any run time TCL errors in the ltm log?

nathe
    Icon for Cirrocumulus rankCirrocumulus

what happens if you use HTTP Fox or Fiddler, do you see the redirect happen here, even if it fails? This might give you a clue as to what's going on, or not.