DevCentral's Featured Member for July - Kees van den Bos

Our Featured Member series is a way for us to show appreciation and highlight active contributors in our community. Communities thrive on interaction and our Featured Series gives you some insight on some of our most active folks.

DevCentral MVP Kees van den Bos is our Featured Member for July 2020! Let's learn more about Kees!

DevCentral: First, please explain to the DC community a little about yourself, what you do and why it’s important.

Kees: I am a freelance Security Engineer/Consultant working for several different customers in the Netherlands. I started freelancing in 2013 and have been working mostly with F5/BIG-IP. I also became a F5 Partner. This helps me when engaging customers or selling LAB VE and normal licenses (to both individuals or companies).

Started my IT career as a network (read windows) administrator and worked my way up to become a more security focused engineer/consultant. In my free time I like to go caving or canyoning. I started caving when I was 14 and over the years I visited caves in France, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Croatia and Greece. In 3 of those caves the bottom was at 1125 Meters, 1270 meters and 1355 meters (and I have been at the bottom). During holiday’s we go canyoning with the family, it is a great outdoor sport for all ages.

DevCentral: You are a very active contributor in the DevCentral community. What keeps you involved?

Kees: Like in my daily work I like to help people with their “issues”. DevCentral is a great platform to share and help solving issues. I must admit that I was a big fan of the old platform/forum. Now I try to help the DC team by giving my input on what I see/miss within the current platform. But I must admit, it is getting better and better.

DevCentral: Tell us a little about the technical expertise you have.