DevCentral's Featured Member for May - Rodolfo Nützmann

Our Featured Member series is a way for us to show appreciation and highlight active contributors in our community. Communities thrive on interaction and our Featured Series gives you some insight on some of our most engaged folks. DevCentral Member and 2022 MVP Rodolfo Nützmann is our Featured Member for May! Let's catch up with Rodolfo!

DevCentral: First, please explain to the DevCentral community a little about yourself, what you do and why it is important.

Rodolfo: Like many here, I’m a tech enthusiast since way back when tech wasn’t cool. 😉

I was born and grew up in São Paulo, Brazil, and started my journey with computers when I was 9 years old, much later than today’s kids – but this was in 1984 and the personal computer at the time (a “Microdigital TK82-C”) was sporting a cool 3,25 MHz with its Zilog Z80A microprocessor, with a whopping 2KB RAM and reading BASIC-language programs off cassette tapes at blazing fast 300bps.

To this day I still remember sitting countless nights in my room in my early teens, connected to some Bulletin Board System with my 9600bps modem to exchange some messages over FidoNet and, hopefully, download some new games. I guess all that waiting at the time, counting every Byte that came in, played a big influence in developing my endurance and perseverance which later helped me excel in discovering how to use new technologies and, especially, in my troubleshooting skills. You’ve gotta be persistent!