F5 CIS, TLS Extensions, and troubleshooting

Summary

Recently, I learned that the iRule that is deployed by default with HTTPS VIPs created by Container Ingress Services (CIS) can be removed natively with a Policy CRD. And I learned a little about TLS versions and TLS extensions, and testing with openssl.

Background

If you are unfamiliar with CIS, it is a controller that runs within Kubernetes (K8s) and monitors the K8s API server. CIS is able to modify the BIG-IP system configuration based on changes made to containerized applications.

By default, when you use a VirtualServer CRD to create a HTTPS VIP with CIS, an iRule is created and attached to the VIP on the BIG-IP. This iRule is about 292 lines long, and from what I can tell, is used for deciding which clientSSL profile should be used if there are mutliple profiles to choose from. (I'm not an expert with this iRule, but it looks like it would be required if you used SNI to distinguish between multiple TLS websites hosted at the same IP address).

However, the iRule isn't strictly required if you have a very basic (but common) set up: a simple HTTP/S VIP that performs TLS decryption, only has 1 possible clientSSL profile (no shared VIP with other TLS sites), and then simply proxies the traffic to pool members. 

Problem Definition

A customer called me and said:

"CIS is creating an unnecessary iRule that's attached to my VIP. Half of my TLS clients cannot connect to the VIP, but when I remove this iRule manually in the GUI, they connect fine. These TLS clients are old medical devices. Can we just have CIS not create this?"

With the default set up, my TLS connections were failing from medical devices.

More details